Lantern Finance Logo
    All comparisonsUpdated September 2026

    Lantern vs Nexo

    Compare Nexo with Lantern’s collateral options, insured custody and support when markets move.

    YOUR PICKLF

    Crypto-backed loans for the long haul.

    13assets
    72hgrace
    8%from annual interest

    BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.

    vs
    Nexo

    US crypto credit lines; pricing depends on NEXO token holdings.

    30+assets
    0hgrace
    15.9%annual interest

    US BTC borrowing with no NEXO tokens: 15.9% annual interest, compounded daily, not an all-in APR. Lower rates require qualifying NEXO holdings; low-cost rates also require LTV below 20%. Repayments within 45 days incur additional interest for the remaining days. Promotions excluded; eligibility and terms vary.

    Key points

    Why borrowers choose Lantern over Nexo.

    • Standard pricing without a platform tokenLantern starts at 8% annual interest plus a 2% upfront fee without requiring a platform token. Nexo’s US rate without qualifying NEXO holdings is 15.9% annual interest.
    • 72 hours to respond, with no liquidation penaltyNexo sells collateral automatically at its threshold and charges 2%–3.5% plus a spread. Lantern provides a 72-hour margin-call window and charges no liquidation penalty.
    • US-based company and supportLantern is US-incorporated with US-based phone, text, and video support. Nexo availability, custody and terms vary by region.
    Lantern leads onBitGo insured cold storage72-hour grace period vs noneZero liquidation penalty vs 2%–3.5% + spreadPhone, text and video support
    Criterion 1 of 7

    Rates and APR

    BTC borrowing at 50% LTV without platform-token discounts. Annual interest is shown; fees and terms are detailed below.

    LF
    FROM 8% INTEREST
    8%
    Nexo
    15.9% annual interest
    15.9%
    0%4%8%12%16%20%

    Lantern: BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.

    Nexo: US BTC borrowing with no NEXO tokens: 15.9% annual interest, compounded daily, not an all-in APR. Lower rates require qualifying NEXO holdings; low-cost rates also require LTV below 20%. Repayments within 45 days incur additional interest for the remaining days. Promotions excluded; eligibility and terms vary.

    Rates reflect the loan size and payment option noted above. Compare quotes for the same collateral, term and eligibility.

    Criterion 2 of 7

    Loan-to-value

    How much you can borrow, and how much cushion you have before a margin call.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    Up to 50%

    Borrow up to half your collateral’s value for BTC, ETH and SOL. Other supported assets have lower starting LTV limits.

    Margin call
    65% LTV
    Liquidation
    75% LTV
    Nexo
    Up to 50% (BTC / ETH)

    US Credit Line: BTC and ETH qualify for up to 50% LTV. Other assets have separate limits.

    Margin call
    71.4% LTV (first alert)
    Liquidation
    83.33% LTV (crypto only)

    Consistency matters. Lantern applies the same 65% margin call and 75% liquidation thresholds across all 13 supported assets, no variation by coin.

    Criterion 3 of 7

    Supported assets

    The coins you can post as collateral.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    13 assets

    Borrow against the coin you actually hold, without first swapping into a different collateral asset.

    BTCETHSOLLTCXRPDOGEXLMADAHBARBCHLINKSUIXDC
    Nexo
    30+ assets

    Confirmed assets include BTC, ETH, NEXO, USDT, USDC. Full list not independently verified.

    BTCETHNEXOUSDTUSDC+ many more
    Criterion 4 of 7

    Customer support

    Published channels for reaching a support team.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    Phone & text
    415-365-0100

    Call or text a real person on our customer support team.

    Nexo
    Email
    AI chat
    1:1 video
    Not publicly listed in the sources reviewed.
    Criterion 5 of 7

    Grace period

    Time you have to top up before a liquidation event.

    Lantern wins
    LF
    YOUR PICK
    72 hours

    Three full days to top up or pay down before any liquidation begins. Markets move; we don't think you should be punished for being away from your phone.

    Nexo
    No grace period

    For BTC and ETH collateral, Nexo starts selling crypto automatically at 83.33% LTV. Margin-call emails are informational only; there is no guaranteed time window before liquidation.

    Lantern's 72-hour grace windowAfter a margin call
    0h
    Margin call sent
    24h
    Day 1: top up window
    48h
    Day 2: specialist reaches out
    72h
    Liquidation only if needed
    Nexo: For BTC and ETH collateral, Nexo starts selling crypto automatically at 83.33% LTV. Margin-call emails are informational only; there is no guaranteed time window before liquidation.
    Criterion 6 of 7

    Liquidation penalty

    What it costs you if the market moves against your position.

    Lantern wins
    LF
    YOUR PICK
    0%

    If we have to liquidate, we sell exactly the amount needed to bring your loan back to a safe LTV. No 2% fee. No 5% fee. No surprise line items.

    Total fees on liquidation
    Fee rate (%)
    0%
    Nexo
    2–3.5%

    Nexo’s US fee schedule charges 2%–3.5% for crypto liquidations, plus an exchange spread. The rate depends on volatility, market conditions and liquidity.

    View Nexo’s liquidation fee schedule
    Liquidation fee / spread
    Fee rate (%)

    Shaded range: 2%–3.5%. Exchange spread is additional.

    2%–3.5% plus exchange spread
    Criterion 7 of 7

    Custody model

    Who actually holds your collateral, and how.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    Insured cold storage
    BitGo cold storage with insurance. Bankruptcy-remote and segregated.
    BitGo Trust
    Qualified custodian · Up to $250M insured
    We never speculate with your crypto
    Nexo
    Service-provider custody

    The US platform uses service-provider custody, including Bakkt. Loan-specific custody and segregation depend on the applicable product agreement.

    Service-provider custody
    Loan-specific coverage not disclosed
    Full breakdown

    Every metric, side by side

    LF
    Your pick
    Nexo
    Competitor
    Rate / APR
    From 8% annual interest

    BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.

    15.9% annual interest

    US BTC borrowing with no NEXO tokens: 15.9% annual interest, compounded daily, not an all-in APR. Lower rates require qualifying NEXO holdings; low-cost rates also require LTV below 20%. Repayments within 45 days incur additional interest for the remaining days. Promotions excluded; eligibility and terms vary.

    Max LTV
    Up to 50%
    US Credit Line: BTC and ETH qualify for up to 50% LTV. Other assets have separate limits.
    Margin call threshold
    65% LTV
    71.4% LTV (first alert)
    Liquidation threshold
    75% LTV
    83.33% LTV (crypto only)
    Supported assets
    13
    30+
    Support channels
    Email, Phone & text, 1:1 Video
    Email, AI chat
    1:1 video support
    Yes
    Not publicly listed
    Grace period
    72 hours
    No grace period

    For BTC and ETH collateral, Nexo starts selling crypto automatically at 83.33% LTV. Margin-call emails are informational only; there is no guaranteed time window before liquidation.

    Liquidation penalty
    None
    2%–3.5% plus exchange spread

    Nexo’s US fee schedule charges 2%–3.5% for crypto liquidations, plus an exchange spread. The rate depends on volatility, market conditions and liquidity.

    Custody model
    Insured cold storage
    Service-provider custody
    Insurance coverage
    Up to $250M (BitGo Trust)
    Loan-specific coverage not disclosed
    Minimum loan
    From $1,000; state minimums apply
    From $50; region and payout dependent
    Headquartered
    Las Vegas, NV
    Nexo group: Zug, Switzerland
    Regulatory status
    US-incorporated, Las Vegas, NV
    US platform: Nexo US, LLC; product-specific providers and terms

    Public sources reviewed September 2026. Terms vary by asset, loan size, payment option and jurisdiction. Unverified details are marked; confirm your individual quote before borrowing.

    Ready to switch?

    Move from Nexo
    to Lantern Finance

    More comparisons

    Lantern vs everyone else

    Lantern vs Nexo: Crypto-Backed Loan Comparison