Compare · Updated September 2026
Lantern vs Coinbase
Compare Coinbase with Lantern’s collateral options, insured custody and support when markets move.
- Grace period
- 72 hrs
- Coinbase: No grace period
- Liquidation penalty
- 0%
- Coinbase: 4.38%
- Supported assets
- 16
- Coinbase: 9
- From APR
- 10%
- Coinbase: Variable
Key points
Why borrowers choose Lantern over Coinbase.
Grace period
Three full days to top up or pay down before any liquidation begins. Markets move; we don't think you should be punished for being away from your phone.
Liquidation penalty
If we have to liquidate, we sell exactly the amount needed to bring your loan back to a safe LTV. No 2% fee. No 5% fee. No surprise line items.
Supported assets
Borrow against the coin you actually hold, without first swapping into a different collateral asset.
Consistency matters.
Lantern applies the same 65% margin call and 75% liquidation thresholds across all 16 supported assets, no variation by coin.
The breakdown
Lantern vs Coinbase, criterion by criterion.
- Criterion 1 of 6
Rates and APR
Interest, fees and the conditions behind advertised rates.
Coinbase
Rates vary with the Morpho market and include Coinbase’s ongoing interest fee. A processing fee also applies each time you borrow; review the quote in-app.
Lantern
BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.
- Criterion 2 of 6
Loan-to-value
How much you can borrow, and how much cushion you have before a margin call.
Coinbase
Coinbase offers Varies by market LTV. Compare carefully against Lantern's liquidation terms.
Lantern
Borrow up to half your collateral’s value for BTC, ETH and SOL. Other supported assets have lower starting LTV limits.
- Criterion 3 of 6
Supported assets
The coins you can post as collateral.
Coinbase
Nine collateral options, including cbETH and JitoSOL. Availability varies by region.
Lantern
Lantern winsBorrow against the coin you actually hold, without first swapping into a different collateral asset.
- Criterion 4 of 6
Grace period
Time you have to top up before a liquidation event.
Coinbase
Collateral can be liquidated on-chain as soon as the loan reaches its liquidation threshold. There is no fixed window to cure a margin call.
Lantern
Lantern winsThree full days to top up or pay down before any liquidation begins. Markets move; we don't think you should be punished for being away from your phone.
- Criterion 5 of 6
Liquidation penalty
What it costs you if the market moves against your position.
Coinbase
Coinbase’s published 86% liquidation-threshold example adds a 4.38% penalty to the loan and accrued interest being repaid. Market-specific terms can differ.
Lantern
Lantern winsIf we have to liquidate, we sell exactly the amount needed to bring your loan back to a safe LTV. No 2% fee. No 5% fee. No surprise line items.
- Criterion 6 of 6
Custody model
Who actually holds your collateral, and how.
Coinbase
Collateral locked in Morpho smart contracts on Base. Some assets are wrapped, including BTC converted 1:1 to cbBTC.
Lantern
BitGo cold storage with insurance. Bankruptcy-remote and segregated.
Full breakdown
Every metric, side by side
Interest, fees and the conditions behind advertised rates.
- Rate / APR
- From 10% APRBTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.
- Variable APR; quoted in-appRates vary with the Morpho market and include Coinbase’s ongoing interest fee. A processing fee also applies each time you borrow; review the quote in-app.
- Max LTV
- Up to 50%
- Varies by market
- Margin call threshold
- 65% LTV
- No formal call; auto-liquidates
- Liquidation threshold
- 75% LTV
- Market-specific; shown in loan overview
- Supported assets
- Lantern leads:16
- 9
- Support channels
- Email, Phone & text, 1:1 Video
- Help center, Email
- 1:1 video support
- Yes
- Not publicly listed
- Grace period
- Lantern leads:72 hours
- No grace periodCollateral can be liquidated on-chain as soon as the loan reaches its liquidation threshold. There is no fixed window to cure a margin call.
- Liquidation penalty
- Lantern leads:None
- 4.38% in the published 86% LLTV exampleCoinbase’s published 86% liquidation-threshold example adds a 4.38% penalty to the loan and accrued interest being repaid. Market-specific terms can differ.
- Custody model
- Lantern leads:Insured cold storage
- Morpho smart contract
- Insurance coverage
- Lantern leads:Up to $250M (BitGo Trust)
- Loan collateral coverage not specified
- Minimum loan
- From $1,000; state minimums apply
- Not stated
- Headquartered
- Lantern leads:Las Vegas, NV
- Distributed / remote-first
- Regulatory status
- Lantern leads:US-incorporated, Las Vegas, NV
- US-incorporated (Delaware)
Public sources reviewed September 2026. Terms vary by asset, loan size, payment option and jurisdiction. Unverified details are marked; confirm your individual quote before borrowing.
More comparisons

