Lantern Finance Logo
    All comparisonsUpdated September 2026

    Lantern vs Ledn

    Compare Ledn with Lantern’s collateral options, insured custody and support when markets move.

    YOUR PICKLF

    Crypto-backed loans for the long haul.

    13assets
    72hgrace
    10%from APR

    BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.

    vs
    Ledn

    Bitcoin-only loans with size-based pricing and restricted collateral re-posting.

    1asset
    0hgrace
    11.49%*retail APR

    *$10K–$15K BTC loans use Ledn’s under-$250K tier: 11.49% APR, with no monthly payments required. Larger loans receive lower rates, down to 9.25% APR at $2M+. Jurisdiction affects the final quote.

    Key points

    Why borrowers choose Lantern over Ledn.

    • 13 collateral assets vs BTC onlyLedn is a Bitcoin-only lender. Lantern supports BTC plus XRP, ETH, SOL, LTC, DOGE, and more.
    • Collateral stays in insured cold storageLantern never lends, trades, or rehypothecates collateral, and BitGo custody is included without a premium.
    • US-based and US-regulatedLedn is Cayman-incorporated. Lantern is a Delaware-incorporated US company with a US support team.
    Lantern leads on13 assets vs BTC onlyBitGo insured cold storage72-hour grace periodUS-based vs Cayman Islands
    Criterion 1 of 7

    Rates and APR

    BTC-backed loans of $10,000–$15,000 over 12 months. Payment options are noted below.

    Lantern wins
    LF
    FROM 10% APR
    10%
    Ledn
    11.49% APR*
    11.49%*
    0%3%6%9%12%15%

    Lantern: BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.

    Ledn: *$10K–$15K BTC loans use Ledn’s under-$250K tier: 11.49% APR, with no monthly payments required. Larger loans receive lower rates, down to 9.25% APR at $2M+. Jurisdiction affects the final quote.

    Rates reflect the loan size and payment option noted above. Compare quotes for the same collateral, term and eligibility.

    Criterion 2 of 7

    Loan-to-value

    How much you can borrow, and how much cushion you have before a margin call.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    Up to 50%

    Borrow up to half your collateral’s value for BTC, ETH and SOL. Other supported assets have lower starting LTV limits.

    Margin call
    65% LTV
    Liquidation
    75% LTV
    Ledn
    Up to 50%

    Ledn matches the industry standard. Pay attention to the liquidation thresholds, not just the headline LTV.

    Margin call
    70% LTV
    Liquidation
    80% LTV

    Consistency matters. Lantern applies the same 65% margin call and 75% liquidation thresholds across all 13 supported assets, no variation by coin.

    Criterion 3 of 7

    Supported assets

    The coins you can post as collateral.

    Lantern wins
    LF
    YOUR PICK
    13 assets

    Borrow against the coin you actually hold, without first swapping into a different collateral asset.

    BTCETHSOLLTCXRPDOGEXLMADAHBARBCHLINKSUIXDC
    Ledn
    1 asset

    Ledn accepts BTC.

    BTC
    Criterion 4 of 7

    Customer support

    Published channels for reaching a support team.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    Phone & text
    415-365-0100

    Call or text a real person on our customer support team.

    Ledn
    Email
    Chat
    1:1 video
    Not publicly listed in the sources reviewed.
    Criterion 5 of 7

    Grace period

    Time you have to top up before a liquidation event.

    Lantern wins
    LF
    YOUR PICK
    72 hours

    Three full days to top up or pay down before any liquidation begins. Markets move; we don't think you should be punished for being away from your phone.

    Ledn
    No grace period

    Collateral can be sold automatically at 80% LTV. A margin-call alert at 70% LTV does not start a fixed grace period.

    Lantern's 72-hour grace windowAfter a margin call
    0h
    Margin call sent
    24h
    Day 1: top up window
    48h
    Day 2: specialist reaches out
    72h
    Liquidation only if needed
    Ledn: Collateral can be sold automatically at 80% LTV. A margin-call alert at 70% LTV does not start a fixed grace period.
    Criterion 6 of 7

    Liquidation penalty

    What it costs you if the market moves against your position.

    Lantern wins
    LF
    YOUR PICK
    0%

    If we have to liquidate, we sell exactly the amount needed to bring your loan back to a safe LTV. No 2% fee. No 5% fee. No surprise line items.

    Total fees on liquidation
    Fee rate (%)
    0%
    Ledn
    0.5%

    Ledn applies a 0.5% trading spread to Bitcoin sold in a forced liquidation. The cost is included in the sale price.

    Liquidation fee / spread
    Fee rate (%)
    0.50% spread
    Criterion 7 of 7

    Custody model

    Who actually holds your collateral, and how.

    LF
    YOUR PICK
    Insured cold storage
    BitGo cold storage with insurance. Bankruptcy-remote and segregated.
    BitGo Trust
    Qualified custodian · Up to $250M insured
    We never speculate with your crypto
    Ledn
    Institutional (undisclosed)

    Collateral may be re-posted to institutional USD funding partners or Ledn-sponsored financing vehicles under restricted custody arrangements.

    Institutional (undisclosed)
    Not publicly disclosed
    Full breakdown

    Every metric, side by side

    LF
    Your pick
    Ledn
    Competitor
    Rate / APR
    From 10% APR

    BTC: 8% interest plus a 2% upfront fee gives a 10% APR for a 12-month loan. No loan-size pricing tiers; volume discounts are available for larger loans. Asset and state eligibility apply.

    11.49% APR*

    *$10K–$15K BTC loans use Ledn’s under-$250K tier: 11.49% APR, with no monthly payments required. Larger loans receive lower rates, down to 9.25% APR at $2M+. Jurisdiction affects the final quote.

    Max LTV
    Up to 50%
    Up to 50%
    Margin call threshold
    65% LTV
    70% LTV
    Liquidation threshold
    75% LTV
    80% LTV
    Supported assets
    13
    1
    Support channels
    Email, Phone & text, 1:1 Video
    Email, Chat
    1:1 video support
    Yes
    Not publicly listed
    Grace period
    72 hours
    No grace period

    Collateral can be sold automatically at 80% LTV. A margin-call alert at 70% LTV does not start a fixed grace period.

    Liquidation penalty
    None
    0.50% spread

    Ledn applies a 0.5% trading spread to Bitcoin sold in a forced liquidation. The cost is included in the sale price.

    Custody model
    Insured cold storage
    Institutional (undisclosed)
    Insurance coverage
    Up to $250M (BitGo Trust)
    Not publicly disclosed
    Minimum loan
    From $1,000; state minimums apply
    From $500; jurisdiction-dependent
    Headquartered
    Las Vegas, NV
    Grand Cayman
    Regulatory status
    US-incorporated, Las Vegas, NV
    Cayman Islands-incorporated

    Public sources reviewed September 2026. Terms vary by asset, loan size, payment option and jurisdiction. Unverified details are marked; confirm your individual quote before borrowing.

    Ready to switch?

    Move from Ledn
    to Lantern Finance

    More comparisons

    Lantern vs everyone else

    Lantern vs Ledn: Crypto-Backed Loan Comparison